Thorware.org

Home of Light's End

Post subject: Congratulations for the game!!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 4:43 pm 

Hi Thor!

I'm from Spain, and you? :D

I've worked in games since I was 16, now I'm 24, and you? :D . I'm tested XNA for some months and I think that it's difficult programming a game.

How long time you spend on this game? How many hours? I supose it's very hard to do this. I'd like to know if your work are satisfied.

I wish you very luck and grow up your money?

How many units are you selling?

Thanks!! :P

And congrats for the game! ;)

Post subject: Re: Congratulations for the game!!
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:56 pm 

Hi Naxox,

Wow, all the way from Spain! Greetings from the US. I hope it's not too hard for you to understand the text in the game.

You're right, creating a game is difficult work. I went to school for making games at DigiPen Institute at Technology where I got a 4 year degree in programming: www.digipen.edu. I am 25. If you want to find out more about me, I have a personal web page for hiring purposes: www.ryanthorlakson.com

I worked on this project full time for 7 months. So that's around 6,000 hours. The artist put in 4 months.

It's difficult to write an entire game in XNA, but really it's easier than using other things like C++ and DirectX.

We're very happy with how the game turned out considering it was just two guys!

As far as units sold and profit, we have no idea. We just released the game yesterday! We don't have any information about that yet. But Community Games historically has a relatively low sale rate because Microsoft doesn't promote it much. We are pretty certain we're not going to break even (pay back our living expenses). So don't try this at home!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:53 am 

Thanks for the info! 8-)

I think like you, Microsoft can promote their XNA users advertising Community games.

Good luck and I wish you become so popular!

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:12 am